Reiki FAQs

What is Reiki Certification?
It is a level designation, such as Level I, Level II and Level III. A “Master’s Degree” indicates that a student has received attunement to a high enough level of Reiki to be able to attune others. The Third Level (Master Level III) is taught by the most experienced Reiki Masters in the Reiki Network, known as Reiki Master Teachers. Laura Bertoncini has been awarded the designation ofMaster Level III Certification, USUI System of Natural Initiatives.

What is Reiki?
The word Reiki is made of two Japanese words – Rei which means “God’s Wisdom or the Higher Power” and Ki which is “life force energy”. So Reiki is actually “spiritually guided life force energy.”

A treatment feels like a wonderful glowing radiance that flows through and around you by tapping into an unlimited supply of “life force energy” to improve one’s health and enhance the quality of life. Reiki treats the whole person including body, emotions, mind and spirit creating many beneficial effects that include relaxation and feelings of peace, security and wellbeing. Many have reported miraculous results.

Reiki is a simple, natural and safe method of spiritual healing and self-improvement that can benefit everyone. It has been effective in helping virtually every known illness and malady and always creates a beneficial effect. It also works in conjunction with all other medical or therapeutic techniques to relieve side effects and promote recovery.

Its use is not dependent on one’s intellectual capacity or spiritual development and therefore is available to everyone. While Reiki is spiritual in nature, it is not a religion. It has no dogma, and there is nothing you must believe in order to learn and use Reiki. In fact, Reiki is not dependent on belief at all and will work whether you believe in it or not. Because Reiki comes from God, many people find that using Reiki puts them more in touch with the experience of their religion rather than having only an intellectual concept of it.

While Reiki is not a religion, it is still important to live and act in a way that promotes harmony with others. Mikao Usui,1  the founder of the Reiki system of natural healing, recommended that one practice certain simple ethical ideals to promote peace and harmony, which are nearly universal across all cultures.

What are the five Reiki Principles of Dr. Mikao Usui?

1: Just for today, I will not be angry.
2: Just for today, I will not worry.
3: Just for today, I will be grateful.
4: Just for today, I will do my work honestly.
5: Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing.

1. Mikao Usui (1865 – 1926) was the originator of what we today call Reiki. He was born August 15, 1865 in the village of ‘Taniai-mura’ in the Yamagata district of Gifu prefecture Kyoto. As a child he studied in a Tendai Buddhist monastery school entering at an early age. Usui Sensei studied and traveled to western countries and China several times, this was encouraged during the Meiji Era and later, to learn and study western ways. At some point in his life he became a Tendai Buddhist Monk/Priest (what we in the west call a lay priest). On several occasions he took a form of meditation lasting 21 days. Mikao Usui found that the healing techniques contained within his spiritual system worked well on various ailments. His school/clinic was formed not just for the spiritual teachings but it was also a way for people to obtain healing.